Virginia Commonwealth University

Make it real.

Core Staff and Faculty

Core Staff and Faculty

charles-alexander
Charles Alexander, M.A.

Education Coordinator
School of Medicine

Email: charles.alexander@vcuhealth.org

Darci Bowles, Ph.D.(c), RN, CNML

Clinical Assistant Professor of Adult Health and Nursing Systems
School of Nursing

Email: dbowles@vcu.edu

melissa-burton
Melissa Burton, B.S.

Academic Coordinator and Fiscal Administrator
Center for Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Care

Email: mhburton@vcu.edu

alan-dow
Alan W Dow, M.D., M.S.H.A.

Assistant Vice President of Health Sciences for Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Care

School of Medicine

Email: alan.dow@vcuhealth.org

sharon-lanning
Sharon Lanning, D.D.S.

Associate Professor of Dentistry
School of Dentistry

Sharon Lanning is an associate professor of dentistry and member of the IPE Leadership team. Dr. Lanning is the course director of the Foundations of Interprofessional Practice Course for beginning level health care students within VCU’s Schools of Allied Health Professions, Dentistry, Nursing, Medicine, and Pharmacy.  She is an experienced clinician and teacher having served on a number of national committees focusing on advances in dental education. 

Email: sklanning@vcu.edu

kelly-lockeman
Kelly Lockeman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
School of Medicine

Kelly Lockeman joined VCU IPE in 2013 to coordinate evaluation efforts for the Center for Interprofessional Education. She has been engaged in research on outcomes of an interprofessional case conference for early learners, a virtual case activity and interprofessional critical care simulations for senior students, and development of a measure for self-efficacy on the IPEC competencies, as well as a number of other data analysis projects. 

Email: kslockeman@vcu.edu

Elizabeth Micalizzi, M.B.A., PMP, CCRP

Director, Strategic Projects and Integrated Technology, Office of the Vice President for Health Sciences
and Administrative Director, Center for Interprofessional Education and Collaboration
Office of the Vice President for Health Sciences

Elizabeth Micalizzi, MBA, PMP, CCRP is the Director of Strategic Projects and Integrated Technology in the Office of the Vice President for Health Sciences, and the Administrative Director for the VCU Center for Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Care.  Ms. Micalizzi brings almost 20 years professional history in the academic medical center in undergraduate, graduate and continuing medical education, instructional development, multi-media design, as well as complex project management in health sciences and integrated techhnology in clinical research.

Email: eamicalizzi@vcu.edu